71st High School
169 reviews
  1. Cumberland County Schools
  2. 9-12
  3. Public
Back to 71st High School Home

Reviews

169 reviews
  • Excellent
    22
  • Very Good
    42
  • Average
    74
  • Poor
    20
  • Terrible
    11
My 3 years at 71st High School have been good. You might have two or three teachers that are there for the money but we actually have loving teachers that care about us and our future. The school itself has a building is well taken care of but the bathrooms are nasty and lunch is alright.
  • Junior
  • 13 days ago
I loved the sense of community you find at 71st high. You'll never feel alone at this school. You'll always be asked to join or do something in the school.
  • Senior
  • 16 days ago
Being at 71st high school all these years I've really enjoyed hanging with my friends and learning a lot of new things. I've had a lot of life lessons come in along the way too and I know it will prepare me for college and the real world. What I would like to see change is the communication with any particular thing that's going on.
  • Senior
  • 1 month ago
Over the last four years at Seventy-First High School I have remained content with what it has offered with only a few complaints, some of them being the safety, culture and parent involvement. I am not someone who worries about safety often, but I know there are students who do not feel safe or welcome walking the halls or in class. I blame this on the culture that has been adopted by some faculty, staff and students. For a long time, Seventy-First has held a negative reputation, so people think lowly not only of the school but also of the students attending. Because new students come in with such a bad image of the school coming in, their behavior reflects what society thinks of them. This behavior usually goes unchecked because their parents don't involve themselves in the their child's school life. Being a member of the school's PTSA, I have attended what I see as too many meetings where the parents that attend because they're apart of the board.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
The health of the school is great. It is a safe environment with school police there everyday ensuring the students safety.
  • High School Senior
  • 4 months ago
The extracurriculars are very fun, it gives you something to do and keeps you occupied. You make new friends and you gain a great experience and learn things that can better you in the future.
  • High School Senior
  • 4 months ago
My experience at this school is great. I don't regret attending this school. It's a very positive environment and it motivates you to want to do your best
  • High School Senior
  • 4 months ago
Teachers are knowledgeable and know what they're doing and they sometimes help struggling students. Some teachers genuinely care about getting students to pass and some don't
  • High School Senior
  • 4 months ago
Needs some work but overall OK!!!
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
Good school to go into!!!
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
There are a lot of activities, not always a lot of people that join but you can make it fun and worth it.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I enjoyed my time at the school, everyday wasn't the best but I made the most out of it. I have no regrets and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
You have some teachers that care about you and want to help you and see you succeed then there are some that just want to do their jobs and leave. There are usually more good than bad but its like a gamble you don't really know what you're going to get.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The instructors at the university I attend are very diverse. Each instructor have different experiences and skills. Some have traveled to different countries and studied abroad. With that in mind, each instructor has their own way of approaching the material that we, the students, need to learn. Some instructors give more grades than others but that just makes you work harder which ever way the grading is conducted. I feel that if you introduce yourself to the instructors one on one and tell them about yourself, they are more willing to work with you.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
The students are reluctant to listen to student government officials.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
School has many lower income students. Many parents are not involved in the academic lives of the students. I come from a mid to upper middle class background. I felt really uncomfortable because if you are not like them you are made to feel like an outsider.. Would definitely not go to this school given the chance. The popular people are really ghetto, loud and disrespectful.
  • High School Senior
  • 6 months ago
Many of the teachers are not knowledgeable about the subjects they are teaching. Many of the teachers do not want to provide help. the Chemistry department is really bad. One teacher doesn't speak and understand English very well and the other teacher is very rude to struggling students, does not know information on Chemistry and cares more about her weave and nails to actually provide proper tutoring. Either the teachers at this school care too much about a students life ( bordering on weird) or they are completely disinterested.
  • High School Senior
  • 6 months ago
A few of the clubs I joined did not have a lot of activities, but most of them were interesting.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
My favorite parts of hight school was connecting with my friends, making good grades, and overall having fun. I would not go to this school again however, because our rules and regulations were not fair.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Some of the teachers at my high school did an okay job at teaching, others did not do so well.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
  • 1 of 9
Back to 71st High School Home