A&M Consolidated High School
315 reviews
  1. College Station Independent School District
  2. 9-12
  3. Public
Back to A&M Consolidated High School Home

Reviews

315 reviews
  • Excellent
    57
  • Very Good
    144
  • Average
    98
  • Poor
    14
  • Terrible
    2
I loved going to this school! The AP classes prepared me for college extremely well! I also love the school spirit that the students, teachers and other faculty all have! The teachers are so caring & really helped me improve my abilities as a student, especially in English!
  • Alum
  • 2 days ago
Teacher care for students and help them to achieve goals. Many clubs and activities are offered to help students become involved.
  • Senior
  • 7 days ago
Great teachers, good record for helping students achieve high AP scores every year. Usually great athlete programs. Cell service is nonexistent in some hallways and the Internet is like a snail.
  • Senior
  • 18 days ago
I attended this school for 4 years. It is a great school with great teachers. Each teacher wants you to excel in everything you do. Majority of them will even go out of their way to make sure you are getting the best education possible. I participated in the athletic program for four years as well. I played varsity softball and basketball each year i was there. The coaches are really great and also want you to focus on school. As much as they like to win they know and would always remind us that school comes before athletics. Over all i think College Station Independent School District is wonderful.
  • Alum
  • 2 months ago
The school lacked passion in its teachers for the most part. I got many teachers who didn't know what they were teaching, and didn't care for the students. Though, there were only a few teachers who were over qualified to even be there- and yet the school treated them poorly. The only thing that the school has going for them, is their creative-based programs. Programming, animation, and film were the school's most excelling programs and yet they got hardly any recognition.
  • Alum
  • 2 months ago
A&M Consolidated offers a lot, education wise, and definitely helped me expand intellectually. Although they have good academics, the diversity and bullying is a problem. The school population is predominantly white and upper middle class. This environment breeds bullying and hate. I think this is a major problem this institution needs to address.
  • Alum
  • 2 months ago
All of the teachers truly care about the students. The teacher try to go to as many of their student's extracurricular activities as possible and give their support for everything. If a student ever has a question the teachers are more than willing to help in a positive way. A&M Consolidated has the best teachers that I have ever encountered.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
The organizations that I am in are amazing and set up so that each student can get the spot light. The directors of Band, Orchestra, and choir work together to see that everyone succeeds and that each organization is supported and appreciated. The art teachers are uplifting and ready to encourage those who show talent and are more than happy to push someone to succeed.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
Each parent can and is viewed differently by each child and teacher.From my experiences in the band working with the parent organization, I have seen that several of the band parents go above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to supporting the band as whole whether it is in the classroom or on the field at games and competitions.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
The teachers make sure that every student is heard and if they are not sure of an answer to a question the offer the students research the topic and explain it the class allowing for the students to learn from their peers. The teachers are always looking for new ways of teaching or understanding a topic and often ask the students for feedback on lessons or ideas for future lessons. Rarely are the lessons impossible to understand as several of the teachers will go above and beyond the lesson plan to answer the questions put to them.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
Our school makes you feel at home and safety isn't an issue.
  • High School Junior
  • 5 months ago
Extracurricular activities at school are everywhere! Many students at my school are in Young Life, a very popular club. With clubs such as, Student Council. HOSA, Gay-Straight Alliance, FCCLA, BPA, and etc, our school has a lot of opportunity.
  • High School Junior
  • 5 months ago
My school is an academic based school, which is great. The school has exceptional variety of classes and opportunity to get ahead. Once you learn what teaching style works for you, your'e bound to do great. There are certain things that I personally don't see as fair when it comes to dress code at m school, which is who gets by with it and who doesn't. All and all, my school is a blessing.
  • High School Junior
  • 5 months ago
The teachers I've had since I started high school don't seem very concerned with if the students grasps the material or not. Most of them do not connect the information with real world examples, and express more importance on complex state teaching requirements rather than becoming a young successful adult. In school, the main importance is getting a good grade, rather than comprehending the information. Many teachers use technology to teach the class rather than the teacher his/herself.
  • High School Junior
  • 5 months ago
I was only involved with choir after school. Mr. Angle is incredible and so sweet, I wouldn't trade his training for anyone else.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The parents that get involved at this school are really interested in what best for their children and others.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
This was the best school I've ever attended. The teachers and staff are great and they are really invested in making sure the student is ready and able to learn.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
There really isn't any bullying in regard to acceptance of race or sexual orientation. There's so much love and support at A&M Consolidated, that it's fun and easy going when getting students involved in anything.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
Not all teachers know what they're doing when it comes to actually teaching, grading, or other methods of teaching, but they do improve (with time). Workload is appropriate, maybe too much if your teachers love giving out busy work and don't understand nor care that students have jobs, other homework, or personal matters that don't allow them to be able to adequately do the work given, or on time. If workload is too intense, talking to the administration or teacher usually helps, dropping classes and rescheduling is available if needed. Popular classes include AV, Tech, Workshop, Small Animal Management, and most popular, the med classes, where you can become certified in CPR, AED, First-aid, CNA, etc.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
I was a Nurse Aid for a year, they take care of every student, and staff member, paying extra attention to pregnant students or those who need extra help. The whole school runs on appropriate protocol and precautions, metal detectors are not needed, and drug dog sweeps are about once or twice a month. There is always a cop on duty, and administration walking around the halls during passing periods checking for dress-code, or shady behavior. I not only feel safe from a tragic event such as a school shooting, but this school is known for being the "Cinder-block Castle", making me feel completely safe in a threat of harsh destructive weather.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 16
Back to A&M Consolidated High School Home