Aaec - Smcc Campus
87 reviews
  1. Phoenix, AZ
  2. 9-12
  3. Public, Charter
Back to Aaec - Smcc Campus Home

Reviews

87 reviews
  • Excellent
    28
  • Very Good
    20
  • Average
    27
  • Poor
    8
  • Terrible
    4
AAEC South Mountain campus is amazing, it has quality staff, diversity, education, and opportunity's that no other school can offer. Yes the school is small, and we do not have many resources in large quantities, but everything we lack, we make up for in opportunities, such as taking college classes, and groups like STUGO and FFA.The students are able to take College classes and graduate South Mountain Community College with an AA degree a week before their senior graduation.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Overall the parent support at this school is astonishing. One time we had a situation where the students had planned a special event for the teachers all on our own, but it didn't take long before a couple of our parent met and decided they would take care of it all, the spending, the catering, everything was covered by our PTA. The outcome was super,our teachers were impressed by our actions and they continued to do a great job! Our parents truly care about our education and they will assist us in any way possible even of it is to have a little fun. Some parents continue to be active with our events and our school nights even though their children have long graduated, they still comeback to support our staff and our awesome students.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
All of the teachers always go beyond their capacities when it comes to helping students outside and in the classroom. I particularly admire our mathematics department for the amazing job they have done at our campus and for continuing to bring in awesome scores every year.Their unique way of teaching, remembering the song "The QF", in order to memorize the quadratic formula, or remembering "sohcahtoa" for everything triangles. These little fun> and sometimes exaggerated funny memes, often do the trick for us students when testing comes around, and these methods are proven to work when our scores come back to be the best ones in the district.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Attending AAEC SM is the best decision I have done in my life. This has been the best opportunity that has been presented to me for the reason that it is helping me finish my education. Being able to attend high school and college at the same time is an amazing thing because it gets you one step closer to your future career.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 3 2015
While it is a great school and give high school students the opportunity to get free college they need improvement in student activities and technology.
  • Niche User
  • June 27 2015
I personally prominently feel safe in AAEC the whole school is gated and there are always teachers around. The school also has practice fire drills and lock downs in case of emergencies.
  • Niche User
  • May 19 2015
The food at our school is average depending on what is being served some choices are good and others aren't as appetizing although they do have a well balanced meal because they include fruit, milk and a salad bar, no junk food or soda.
  • Niche User
  • May 19 2015
Our school has a strong policies they only give three chances to every student for all policies we are expected to be treated as adults and act as adults if we don't comply than that high school isn't for us. I believe its a good expectation because it helps the students who do care less distractions.
  • Niche User
  • May 19 2015
The teachers at AAEC are very helpful to students they devote there time and patients into us doing that we live in the South Side of Phoenix they don't view us any different . They let us know they encourage us and push us to be the best within the rest of the charter schools.
  • Niche User
  • May 19 2015
i love it !!! and if i could start from freshman year i would. if i ever have children i would like them to have this opportunity.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 25 2015
the person serving us is the best. she is very friendly and allows has the facility clean. if anything needed she is there to help.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 25 2015
if you do something that is not allowed the principal takes serious matters with you.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 25 2015
like i mentioned the school doesnt focus on wasting time in sports. but there are groups that allow these sports to be played. but all the fields are from the college we attentd.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 25 2015
i love how to the teachers engage in your learning. you might just be a new student that year, but since the first day the teachers are seeing your pace and trying to help and they offer after school programs which is called 21st century club. many teachers work with the students and encourage them to do better.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 25 2015
this school doesnt provide any sports for the season. since its a public charter school they focus more on the need of a student to succeed in life. every year they do make a game called olympics which makes the 5 different AAEC's to join and have a friendly competition.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 25 2015
being able to attend college and get college credits while i'm still in high school shows that i can do so much more with my life. it makes me understand that i can look for opportunities.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 25 2015
No nurse, you are on your own. Security cameras dont work/ face the celing.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
I love the concept, but this location is not up to par. I love the trip opportunities. The ag program needs to have 2 solid, committed, willing teachers. FFA needs to be reformed (like have some consistancy and involvement). Also, rules should apply more equally to everyone.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
Rules seem to only apply to some people. Some people will break dress code, chew gum, and ditch and just get a warning, while others would get in huge trouble for the simple things. Very inconsistent.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
We dont really have sports except for the "Olympics" when the 5 schools in the district get together for what is basically field day.

The only sport we have is the horsemanship classes and that is only open to like 12 kids and only has one level and no room to grow.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
  • 1 of 5
Back to Aaec - Smcc Campus Home