Abby Kelley Foster Charter Public School
92 reviews
  1. Worcester, MA
  2. K-12
  3. Public, Charter
Back to Abby Kelley Foster Charter Public School Home

Reviews

92 reviews
  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    46
  • Average
    27
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    1
Abby Kelley is a great school. I love how involved I am able to be with all the clubs and activities and having a voice. There are many informative assemblies throughout the year as well as fun assemblies. I feel that Abby Kelley gears students up for college and the real world. The staff is very involved with the students and are there for them whenever they are needed. Overall, I have had a fantastic experience at this school and I believe everyone else has too.
  • Senior
  • 12 days ago
Abby Kelley Foster Charter Public School was a wonderful experience. This school has helped me in my English and Writing, helping in expanding my vocabulary and annotating short stories. Abby Kelley was also a regional district and also walking distance from each other.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I feel safe at this school, just wish the nurse could give more than just water whenI don't feel well.
  • High School Senior
  • 3 months ago
The extra-curriculars at school are just fine because we aren't really that big of a school. So it makes sense to not have that many options but it would be nice to have just a couple more like student journalism, dance team or something. Just need the right people to step up and make that happen.
  • High School Senior
  • 3 months ago
Some of my favorite experiences at school would be the events like Pep rallies or Senior night in athletics. This school is unique because it is so diverse. For example, there was a Student Council trip I was taken on and everyone said our school had some many different backgrounds and ethnicities. I would choose this school again because the rules, in my opinon, are probably more strict than most schols in Worcester which makes it easier to focus on your education rather than getting in trouble every other day.
  • High School Senior
  • 3 months ago
Most teachers I have had keep an engaged class and allow students to express themselves. They seem to know a lot about the subject they teach and are able to incorporate real life examples. They are also very approachable and eager to make sure you know the topic the class is studying.
  • High School Senior
  • 3 months ago
The thing is, is we have all grown up together so everybody knows everyone which makes us feel safe. When I'm sitting in my classroom I'm not worried that a student is going to do anything, and I'm not worried that someone is going to shoot down the school. I'm not worried at all. I feel so safe at my school that if the fire alarm goes off, I'll feel relieved that I get a break from class, or it will stall me from turning in an assignment I didn't do. Although, I do take fire drills seriously. "Don't talk, just walk!"
  • High School Senior
  • 4 months ago
The school has a lot of different extracurricular activities ranging from YAH (Youth Against Homelessness) to Theater/Drama.
  • High School Senior
  • 4 months ago
I just love my school so much. I'm glad that I got the opportunity to go there and I will hopefully make the best from my last year this year.

The experience has been great minus the fact that I'm not the best at being a student but I do have great character which is something the school taught me. There are things I wish I could change (like detentions) but every school has them.
  • High School Senior
  • 4 months ago
The relationships I have with my teachers versus the relationships other students have at different schools makes me feel like I have an advantage.
  • High School Senior
  • 4 months ago
The academics are top notch and just incredible.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
There are a few clubs but they are very small. The only clubs that are big are the orchestra and the student council. Student Council only gets big at the end of the year because everybody gets to go to Cape Cod at the end of the year.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
It is a very small community so teachers develop a strong bond with their students. My interest was music and I was lucky enough to have some of the finest music teachers in the state teach me. I have created bonds that will last for a lifetime.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
For the most part, a few exceptions, teachers work incredibly hard for their students.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
My favorite experiences at this school are the fun activites that we do together as a school such as culture day and such. This school is unique because of the structure and foundation that it was built with in terms of the well being for the students. If I could do it all over again, I would not chose this school for the simple fact of networking and wanting the oppurtunity to meet new people.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
For the most part the teachers at my school perofmance and humane wise are pretty good. Their quality is acceptional for they prove to be knowlegdbale for whatsoever they happen to be teaching. Although their teaching styles vary, some due to personal prefernce being better than others it is still nothing that can not be adjusted to or benefitical from. Their communication skills are great and they are devoted to the productiveness and success of the children.
  • High School Senior
  • 5 months ago
My school is a very safe school and takes any safety measures very serious. Bullying is not tolerated at my school and any will result in consequences whether it is physical bullying or cyber bullying. Different securities are tested, like on occasion we will have fire drill, or lock down test. The school tries to give health food and had not long ago hired a chef to help out. The nurse for the high school is shared with the middle school so the nurse may not always be present unless there is an emergency.
  • High School Senior
  • 6 months ago
There are a few extracurricular activities after school. For clubs there is, student council, art club, yah club, environmental club, yearbook club, and only about a few left. There is usually something going on after school that students can participate in, when
  • High School Senior
  • 6 months ago
My school is pretty great, I like how it is multicultural and the type of environment is great. One of my favorite things about this school is the friends you make. I've met and known many of my friends really young from kindergarten to around fifth grade and grew up with them since. This school is pretty great and offers some great programs but I wish it had a little more to offer when it comes to sports, clubs, and even electives to take. There are few things to choose from and even for electives, students are most likely to take the same ones their senior year because there are so little that you are able to choose from. It is even hard to try and create/start something like a club or even ways of fundraising because the school won't allow it.
  • High School Senior
  • 6 months ago
There is only one school nurse for the Middle and High school share, and she isn't available very often. When she is, she just dismisses the students.
  • High School Freshman
  • 7 months ago
  • 1 of 5
Back to Abby Kelley Foster Charter Public School Home