Abingdon High School
89 reviews
  1. Washington County Public Schools
  2. 9-12
  3. Public
Back to Abingdon High School Home

Reviews

89 reviews
  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    24
  • Average
    43
  • Poor
    9
  • Terrible
    5
Great school in the Appalachian Mountains. Low school violence. Nice smaller town to live in as well.
  • Senior
  • 21 days ago
My past four years at Abingdon High School have been nothing short of amazing. I fell in love with the teachers and students. This is my home. I honestly cannot thank these people enough for all they have done for me. The teachers are very helpful and resourceful. This school is truly one big family. I am blessed to have been able to receive my high school diploma at Abingdon High School.
  • Senior
  • 23 days ago
I have been enrolled in Abingdon High School for the past four years. It has been a great school and has given me an amazing high school education. I have played varsity baseball every season since freshman year. I am the president of the Future Business Leaders of America club at my school, and I am also involved in the Civenette's club. I was a member of Blue Crew my freshman and sophomore year. I am currently the Vice President of the National Art Honor Society of Abingdon High School, my junior year I was the Treasurer. I am also a very involved member of the National Honor Society.
  • Senior
  • 2 months ago
Resource officer on campus daily. not in a rough area but safety is still very good.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
There are lots of clubs and ECs available, but the quality of them are not that great.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The teachers are devoted to what they do, but looking back there was not much of a challenge for me in class. I got to college and felt that I was behind the rest of my peers some.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
My son is always in something after school
  • Parent
  • 9 months ago
Teacher are good and seem to care about students
  • Parent
  • 9 months ago
it seems like a pretty safe school
  • Parent
  • 9 months ago
My overall experience at thing school is great because people are usually there to help and support you
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Most teachers are always there to help and work with you in and out of the classroom, however some are not willing to help.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I have had great experiences at Abingdon High School. I have had some great teachers and coaches throughout high school that have made it great. I have learned a lot in my classes and have thoroughly enjoyed athletics here. I would definitely choose this school again if I could do it over. My favorite experiences have definitely been volleyball and softball.
  • High School Senior
  • Nov 18 2015
They try to have something for everyone, but there is a school wide bias in favor of athletics.
  • High School Senior
  • June 6 2015
My daughter isn't very involved in sports, but this is all she could gather up being at school everyday
  • Parent
  • June 2 2015
The staff chooses which rules are applied to dress code. You could walk around with a rich girl's butt hanging out but not being forced to change/being sent home, but my daughter had an experience where her shorts were maybe a little bit under finger length but was sent to the office and forced to change. I was literally told by her middle school, "We can't allow the rich and achieved people to get in trouble as that would give us a bad look."
  • Parent
  • June 2 2015
The people there are just awful, the faculty did absolutely nothing when someone stole my daughter's stuff. There are way too many bullies, lots of drug abuse and alcohol. I would love to take her out of there but we don't have the money to move.
  • Parent
  • June 2 2015
It's mainly focused around sports which my daughter has 0 interest in. There are clubs once a month during the school day, she did get involved with choir but only took it the first half of the semester due to her full schedule
  • Parent
  • June 2 2015
The school nurse will more than likely tell you that you're dehydrated even if you have a broken bone. There have been so many times where my daughter has come off the bus crying because everyone on there hates her because she may not be the most attractive girl that goes there.
  • Parent
  • June 2 2015
There were your regular sports teams that students could get involved with and clubs that took place once a month during the school day, so outside of that, there were not many options for students.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 23 2015
I did not feel as though the information I learned in high school was applicable to the real world. It felt as though what was taught was just a check list and lacked a lot of substance.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 23 2015
  • 1 of 5
Back to Abingdon High School Home