Abraham Clark High School
117 reviews
  1. Roselle Public Schools
  2. 9-12
  3. Public
Back to Abraham Clark High School Home

Reviews

117 reviews
  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    28
  • Average
    58
  • Poor
    16
  • Terrible
    11
This school is terrible. Everyone makes it seem like they're there for you, but end up humiliating you and making you feel like you ultimately mean nothing. Literally everybody is crabby, with the exception of the JROTC staff and the AP teachers. Security doesn't care for anyone and let some kids leave the school whenever they please, all due to favoritism. It's sad, yet, these same foul individuals will suspend innocent kids who wear a sweater that is a color aside from the standard dress code- instead of simply telling them to remove the article of clothing. Really, the security aspect of this school needs to be improved dramatically- specifically the females; they tend to humiliate students and belittle them by making rude comments from time to time. I graduated top of my class somehow despite all the majority of the staff being nothing but rude. Parents, have your kids study hard to enter the vo-tech schools in scotch plains, I beg you
  • Alum
  • 2 months ago
No problems to report, an average school that is safe for everyone.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Plenty of extracurricular activities that everyone can join.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
This school is very diverse which makes it easy to adapt to.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
All of the teachers here are good teachers. Gives help when it is needed.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
A lot of people make friends with security and get away with things
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
There's not much since students are wanting sooner than expected so they don't participate
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
The school can have its ups and downs but it feels like home
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Teachers sometimes pick their favorites and outcast others
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
The school should be as clean as possible, which they do lack in.
  • High School Senior
  • 11 months ago
More activities, should have study hall, etc.
  • High School Senior
  • 11 months ago
Teachers need to interact more with the students.
  • High School Senior
  • 11 months ago
They are not very many extracurricular opportunities at this school.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
Some of the teachers are very young and immature. They are unable to fully handle a their classes,but they give their all.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
I must admit their security policy and procedures are to be commended.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
Although Abraham Clark is one of the better schools in this area , I don't feel that I would select this school again. I was not challenge enough. The majority of my classes was boring. However, now that I am in my senior year, I am happy with all of my teachers. My favorite subject would include science and chemistry.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
My school is smaller than most other high schools in our region: about 700-800 students in this 9th-12th grade high school. I like this aspect of it since we're all very familiar and comfortable with each other. Admittedly, we're not known for being judgmental towards each other in regards to sexuality, disability, etc. Meanwhile, I've conversed with students from other NJ high schools such as those in Montclair, Mountainside, and Linden. There was not one school who told me they didn't experience bullying, fights, discrimination, and ableism on a regular basis. My school won't complain for years if somebody is transgender, gay, or is missing a leg, we accept everybody for who they are and that's part of what makes me proud of this school even when most of society shines a negative light on it. The only problem I'd have to say about this school, however, is that it is in need of more AP classes geared towards students with specific majors (Physics, Chinese, Art History, etc), but even then, it's understandable since they've struggled hard enough to get AP Biology in this past year (which I gladly take now). We also should fund our fine/graphic arts programs more since we are constantly being overlooked and forgotten about when we attend regional art contests, which include pieces of art that we worked from weeks to even months on. If I had to choose to attend this school again, I must admit I might have chosen a different school right away, a bigger, diverse one to be more specific. I'd want to attend a high school with more classes geared towards my major and more diversity and motivation as a class since my class isn't even having a prom. My class now refuses to help in bake sales and has no care of us having no prom, no class trip, and no homecoming dance. In the end, I just try seeking the positives that do stand out from this school.
  • High School Senior
  • Nov 1 2015
I really love Abraham Clark and the teachers, however the curriculum is a little confusing, and they hardly prepare you for college.
  • High School Sophomore
  • Oct 12 2015
Although it is the only high school in the borough of Roselle, the high school does not prepare its students enough for college. The high needs to invest more on preparing the student body for AP courses, and place more emphasis on the importance of scholarships. They must make these opportunities more attainable in order for students to take complete advantage of them.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 8 2015
It's not horrible, but it's not the greatest either.
  • Niche User
  • July 14 2015
  • 1 of 6
Back to Abraham Clark High School Home